Suggestion for materials to learn more about software switches and their hardware counterparts for P4

Hi Everyone,

I am new to p4 and computer networks switches. I am trying to understand the difference in performance between different P4 software switches and what experiments/scenarios will highlight why researchers will favor this software switch over another for a particular area of experiment as this software switch’s hardware counterpart will also prove true in a similar experiment. Therefore, I like to ask for your input on this, please.

I also really appreciate it if someone can point me to a list of P4 software switches (I am aware about SONIC and BMv2) used by the community for research as I am unable to find any comparison studies relating to this.

Thank you in advance.

Disclaimer: This is my personal opinion and no criticism on people that focus on research with software targets.

To be honest, research besides prototyping with software switches (to see if the approach is feasible in P4 in general) is not that useful. While we did a rather detailed survey about P4 research (A survey on data plane programming with P4: Fundamentals, advances, and applied research - ScienceDirect) we noticed that many researchers use software switches. However, based on my own review experience, methods that are only evaluated on software switches do not have meaningful impact as networking today is done at speeds that can never be reached by software targets. Therefore, I’d focus on hardware targets if I were you (Tofino, FPGA targets). I would only focus on software switches when your use cases explicitly have low speed requirements.

One main problem with software targets is, that while they may run algorithms programmed with P4, the same algorithm may not work on a hardware target due to hardware related limitations. There are many fancy P4 based mechanisms on software switches that do fancy stuff that will never work on hardware targets.