How to implement softwared P4 switch in PC or general server to achieve better performance?

I am new to P4 and I want to deploy P4 switches in a virtual environment (among multiple VMS, select the middle VM as the P4 switch) and I would like to ask if there is a better way to do this, for example SONiC has support for P4 (link: SONiC P4 Software Switch · sonic-net/SONiC Wiki · GitHub) However, it is no longer maintained, and I am not sure how to make P4 interact with network ports on bmv2. Can you help me?

Be very grateful

Hi @JYT

1. When you deploy a BMV2 switch you can a assigni to it virtual of physical interfaces, as is written here GitHub - p4lang/behavioral-model: The reference P4 software switch you can pass the interfaces via the flag -i 0@<iface0> -i 1@<iface1>
  2. P4 DPDK is under development but definetely provides better persormance respect to bmv2 here the guide made by Andy for deploying it p4-guide/README-install-ipdk-networking-container-ubuntu-20.04-and-test.md at master · jafingerhut/p4-guide · GitHub

Best
Davide

Thank you for your reply
At present, bmv2 and p4c have been deployed on an industrial PC, but there are some problems when using it as a p4 switch.I refer to the information you provide, as well as a link (Getting Started with P4 - Open Networking Foundation).
I run the following command line:

sudo simple_switch --interface 0@enp2s0 --interface 1@enp4s0 test.bmv2/test.json &
table_add ipv4_match to_port_action 10.10.0.0/16 => 0
table_add ipv4_match to_port_action 11.11.0.0/16 => 1

I plan to link two windows hosts through P4siwtch, with the following topology:

windows PC<----wired link----> industrial PC<----wired link---->windows PC
10.10.1.2___________ enp2s0(P4 Switch)enp4s0___________11.11.1.2

windows PC can’t ping each other successfully,But I capture packet information on industrial PC by wireshark(It shows correct source address).And I followed the links above to complete the whole experiment, which passed correctly…