What is the role of #include <tna.p4>

Hi,
I am a beginner of P4 language and I am confused of the pipeline process.
It seems that the whole P4 program is executed following the pipeline function defined at the end and there are many control functions in it. I find that we can define these control functions arbitrarily. However, I also find that many P4 program #include <v1model.p4> or #include <tna.p4> at the beginning. I read some relative documents and they say these two header files defines the whole pipeline like “parser – ingress pipeline – egress pipeline – deparser”.
So, I am confused about the role of #include <tna.p4> or other header files, do they define the following workflow? since we can arbitrarily define the control function.

Best wishes!

And I have another question. Since we can define the pipeline, what are the differences between v1model and tna? Does the program have to exactly follow the pre-defined v1model or tna workflow?

It is true that architectures like v1model and TNA have an ingress control and an egress control that you are allowed to fill in with whatever P4 code you want, and then your code will run to process packets at those times (if it compiles successfully, and “fits” into the constraints of the target device, e.g. on total table sizes fitting in the existing memory).

But what are “those times”? In a physical Ethernet switch, there is typically Ethernet MAC hardware that is NOT P4-programmable that first interprets the physical signals received, converts them to a sequence of bits, determines where the beginning and end of the Ethernet frame are, check the CRC, etc. None of that is typically P4-programmable at all, but it is there in the device.