What is the role of Control Plane in the concept of P4-programming?

Hello everyone,

I am a last year student at university and my thesis defense is about P4-programmable data plane. In this beginning period, I’ve just only read about basic concepts of P4-programming and I’ve bumped into a question that make me really confused, which is the title of this topic. I think it is important to me to have this confusion clarified before I continue to study more.

In my understanding, P4 lets us customize how packets are processed by the Data Plane, but when we define new rules in our P4 programs to the data plane, is there any conflict between P4 programs and the functionality of the Control plane?
For example, the Control Plane uses algorithms to form the routing table and apply its logic to the Data Plane to forward packets. Then in a P4-program, we also have a match-action table to forward packets too.
So what I don’t understand here is how the Control Plane and a P4-programmable Data Plane work together. What are the “actual tasks” of the Control Plane in this context? Or do we need a Control Plane any more?
Any clarification or helpful information is greatly appreciated.
Thank you very much!

You may want to have a look at [2101.10632] A Survey on Data Plane Programming with P4: Fundamentals, Advances, and Applied Research for a more detailed explanation.

In short: Somewhere, the content of the forwarding tables, a.k.a. routing, has to be derived. This is typically done in the control plane, which decides what to do when a packet with destination XX is received. The control plane may decide that the corresponding action should be to forward the packet through port Y. This abstract information is then stored in the forwarding table defined by the data plane. Hence, the data plane defines HOW packets are processed, and the control plane defines the logic behind the process to decide HOW packets are processed.

2 Likes