Control plane PacketIn and PacketOut

Hello guys,

I am new in P4 and i am a bit confused about the data plane and control plane communication using P4Runtime. I think that i understand how to import rules to the target using P4Runtime API but i can’t understand how can i establish a packetIn and packetOut to and from controller like in Openflow.

Can someone help me with this?

Thanks a lot!

PacketIn and PacketOut messages are exchanged using the bi-directional stream between client and server: p4runtime/p4runtime.proto at 627f28726bcdf06dcedd2df71da0ab42e2e589a2 · p4lang/p4runtime · GitHub

If you are not familiar with gRPC bi-directional stream channels, you may want to read up on them first. How to open the the stream from the client and how to write to the stream will depend on the programming language of choice for your client.

For information about the stream messages and the expected sequence of messages (the client needs to establish itself as leader before being able to do packet-IO), I recommend reading section 16 of the P4Runtime spec: P4Runtime Specification

Finally there are a few examples out there on how to write a P4Runtime client:

Hi,

I would only like to add that I remember learning the Packet In/Out procedure and the corresponding Python-based code from the P4-researching repository. I think you have plenty of sources to learn the same and they probably have the same type of code, I just try to link the one I found.

If you need a grab-and-go solution, I think the p4-controller.py has packet in/out examples going on but you also need to consider the helper libraries as those implement the functions (here) and so on. What I did back in time is to modify the Antonin’s linked P4 tutorial Python code and incorporate the most significant changes from Kevin Bird and other author’s P4-researching repository (mostly helper and controller files I think).