How to create loop for register?

Hello everyone.

I’m new in P4. I tried to implement a method that collects statistics from registers. To do that, it needs to check every element of register array. But, i saw that P4 does not support using loops, like for or while. So, the question is how can i check every elements of a register array or write to them in a control block?

1 Like

Hi @mertkanakkoc ,

It is not possible to create loops in the ingress or egress pipeline of P4 conformant targets. There is no loop construct in P4 as far as I know, such as the ones you mentioned. I believe this a design criterion precisely related to P4-based targets. It would be very difficult to create loops and achieve line rate packet processing. The only loop you can create is in the parser. For instance, when extracting the MPLS headers or IP options. Someone correct me if I am wrong in this paragraph :slight_smile:

Extending my response, please check this paragraph extracted from the P4 spec:

Although parsers may contain loops, provided some header is extracted on each cycle, the packet itself provides a bound on the total execution of the parser. In other words, under these assumptions, the computational complexity of a P4 program is linear in the total size of all headers, and never depends on the size of the state accumulated while processing data (e.g., the number of flows, or the total number of packets processed). These guarantees are necessary (but not sufficient) for enabling fast packet processing across a variety of targets.

In your case, you need to design a “search” method, purely based on the register index. In other words, you need to design a way that having the index calculated, extracted from a packet header or a hash output (just to name a few examples) that will bring you the data you need. In the example posted below, the port number is used as index, and packets are counted per port.