The unit of ingress/egress_global_timestamp

Hello everyone,

I’m new to P4 and I would greatly appreciate any assistance. I’m trying to calculate the time a packet spends in both ingress processing and egress processing in BMv2 (v1model). To achieve this, I subtract the value of ingress_global_timestamp from egress_global_timestamp in the egress processing stage. Here’s the relevant code:
hdr.myPayload.time = (bit<64>)standard_metadata.egress_global_timestamp - (bit<64>)standard_metadata.ingress_global_timestamp

I have a couple of questions regarding this:

1. What is the unit of measurement for the two timestamps mentioned above?
    According to the documentation (/docs/simple+switch.md), the unit for both timestamps should be microseconds. I also checked the simple_switch.h and simple_switch.cpp files, where ts_res is set to std::chrono::microseconds. However, in my experiments, the value I obtain from hdr.myPayload.time is around 60000, while my round-trip time (RTT) is approximately 0.9 milliseconds. Additionally, in p4src/includes/intrinsic.p4, the unit for ingress_global_timestamp is specified as nanoseconds. This inconsistency has left me confused.
  2. Will the parallel nature of packet processing in P4 switches affect the accuracy of this recorded time?

Sincerely,
Logan

You mention a file p4src/includes/intrinsic.p4 that says the units is in nanoseconds. Is this file in some public repository somewhere? Which one? If it is in some switch-ASIC-specific file somewhere, that would not surprise me, e.g. the Tofino ASIC implements units of nanoseconds for similar fields.

Regarding your question “Will the parallel nature of packet processing in P4 switches affect the accuracy of this recorded time?” Unless there is a pretty bad bug in the implementation you are using, I would be very surprised if this is the case. Providing a readable time value in the data plane is a fairly straightforward thing to do.