P4 Large TCAM/SRAM Lookup Table

Hi all, I’m fairly new to P4 and still wrapping my head around certain parts. I understand that the general gist is that the P4 compiler will try to take advantage of any possible parallelization whenever possible. For example, if multiple lookups can be parallelized within one Match Action Unit, then the P4 compiler will take care of that.

I was wondering what typically happens when there is only one lookup table (either TCAM or SRAM) that is very large. For example, to keep it vendor anonymous, if there are x MAUs and y TCAM blocks per MAU according to a vendor design, what happens when I create one P4 lookup table that only uses lpm and I fill it up with more entries than can be stored in y TCAM blocks.

Is that even allowed? Will the P4 compiler somehow “split” the one logical TCAM lookup table across multiple MAUs and parallelize it somehow? In that case, how will the results be unified and decided once all the separate lookups have been completed? Lastly, is the pipeline strictly linear or can the input from the parser directly travel to MAU 2 for example, and do a lookup there without going through MAU 1 and MAU 0?

Thank you! Any guidance will be appreciated.

First, not all P4 implementations will necessarily have multiple stages in a pipeline. A P4 implementation could be a parallel array of CPU cores, with each packet going to one CPU core, executing until completion, then when that CPU core is finished with that packet, the packet goes out, and the CPU core is assigned the next input packet. There are literally an unlimited number of ways to implement P4 in various target devices.

That said, your questions seem specifically asking about a multiple-stage hardware pipeline, with a limited amount of memory accessible in each pipeline stage.

In such cases, one way to split a large table into physically separate stages worth of memory is to associate a priority value with every entry.