Error in parsing

Hi.
I am new to P4 and am using the tutorial VM to try to extract and parse some MQTT headers.
The log file for a switch in the logs folder had the following entries :

[18:11:40.129] [bmv2] [D] [thread 3539] [39.0] [cxt 0] Parser 'parser' entering state 'parse_ipv4'
[18:11:40.129] [bmv2] [D] [thread 3539] [39.0] [cxt 0] Extracting header 'ipv4'
[18:11:40.129] [bmv2] [D] [thread 3539] [39.0] [cxt 0] Extracting header 'mqtt_fixed'
[18:11:40.129] [bmv2] [D] [thread 3539] [39.0] [cxt 0] Parser state 'parse_ipv4' has no switch, going to default next state
[18:11:40.129] [bmv2] [T] [thread 3539] [39.0] [cxt 0] Bytes parsed: 35

The definition of the parse_ipv4 state is

state parse_ipv4 {
        packet.extract(hdr.ipv4);
        transition parse_mqtt;
 }

My question is how is the extraction of the ‘mqtt_fixed’ header occuring before entering the state ‘parse_mqtt’ when the extraction statement is declared in the parse_mqtt state?
I think this might have something to do with the incorrect data I was getting during the parsing phase.
Appreciate any help.

Sometimes the p4c compiler changes the contents of parser states from the original source code that you write. This might explain the BMv2 log statement order you are seeing. One way to try to determine whether this is true is to compile your P4 program with some additional command line options that cause it to print out modified P4_16 source files after the front and mid-end of the P4 compiler has finished processing your program, to see how it differs from your original program.

If your original P4 program is foo.p4, you can run a command like this:

mkdir tmp
p4c --target bmv2 --arch v1model --dump tmp --top4 MidEndLast foo.p4

Then look in the directory tmp for a P4_16 source file and read the source code of its parser.

I tried to run the command but it retuned “p4c: error: unrecognized arguments: --dump --top4 MidEndLast foo.p4”.