Detecting data in TCP payload

I am new to P4, so I appreciate your patience!

I’ve seen similar questions to this, but none have quite answered my question (I don’t think). I’m performing some basic research and I need a way to manipulate TCP payload data in P4.

I’d like to parse TCP packets, analyze part of the payload, and then (if I detect a specific pattern) manipulate some of the payload data. At this stage, it doesn’t matter which part of the payload I manipulate and I’m not quite sure what pattern I will be search for (assume an arbitrary number of bytes), we just need to know that we can detect/manipulate payload data and how we can to that.

I’ve been looking at the example TCP Options Parser (p4-guide/tcp-options-parser.p4 at master · jafingerhut/p4-guide · GitHub) and, although I don’t need the options parser, think it might be a good starting point (point me elsewhere if I’m on the wrong path). From what I’ve read on this forum, I believe I just need to parse all of the TCP header and then my pointer will be at the beginning of the Payload. So I imagine I’d just need to add an extra state to parse the payload (instead of going to accept) and my detector/manipulator logic would go into that parser.

Does this sound like the correct logic?

Appreciate your help.

R/

Hi @christnp ,

Everyone was new to P4 at some point :slight_smile: . You are more than welcome to ask as many questions as you want/need, no matter their simplicity or complexity.

I think that manipulating the payload of a packet is a very complex task in P4. I would risk and say that payload manipulation was not a primary objective of P4. The language does not seem to be designed to perform such a task. Actually, there are no for loops; if we ignore loop-like behaviors, one can observe them when extracting MPLS headers or other similar headers. Still, there is some room for application layer manipulation. In the end, we are just extracting and manipulating bytes.